A shout-out to all the hustlers

This blogpost is dedicated to those who, like me, thought that they would have ‘made it’ by now.

winner

I’m a hard worker. No, I mean I can really put in the extra hours and the extra work. Like really. Late nights? Done. Early mornings? (Not particularly, but…) Done. Weekends? What’s that? To top it off, I’m also fairly intelligent (fairly being used very loosely), I’m diligent, determined, I can see a project from start to finish and I absolutely L.O.V.E what I do. So you can imagine how surprising it must be for me to sit here writing a blogpost about how I have ‘not yet’ made it in life. (Of course the assumption ‘not yet’ implies that I will still ‘make it’). But the truth is, as with all things in life, there are no guarantees.

So no matter what I’ve learned, no matter the long hours of hard studies and no sleep, no matter the skills I’ve acquired throughout my career, no matter the blood, sweat and tears I’ve put into becoming a skilled professional, I may still end up a complete failure. Man, how depressing is that? (Please excuse me a minute while I grab a blade to slit my wrists.)

But here comes the good news (or bad news, depending on how you look at it); if you invest, and continue to invest everything you are into what you believe, i.e. your dream of becoming successful, then life/the universe/God WILL reward you. Fact. However, let me just add that most times the reward may not be a multimillion rand company or fame and fortune, but it will be the perfect reward for you.

Assuming that like me, this little-known fact is some days the only fuel that keeps you going when you are about to give up. Don’t. Do. Not. Give. Up. Why? Because I am rooting for you. Because I am in your corner shouting for you. Because I support every decision, every trail and every battle you endure. And because I know you can do it. And you know it too. Fight a little harder, a little longer. And when you reach the top of that mountain, make some space for me because I’ll be hot on your heels.

Till next time, xoxo